2022 World Cup: Knockout round schedule, and television information

The knockout stage of the 2022 FIFA World Cup is just around the corner.

14 of the 16 points have been decided in the round of 16, with 12 teams already in their matches for the knockout stage. Entering the final day of group play, Brazil and Portugal have both qualified, but whether they advance as winners of their respective groups, or as runners-up, is yet to be determined.

Here are the scenarios for both Group G and Group H going into the final day of group play.

Both Portugal and Brazil will go into their final group stage matches as winners of their respective groups with a win, or draw. Any nation can also win their group by losing, but they will need positive results from the other final match of each group. Ghana, South Korea, Uruguay, Switzerland, Cameroon, and Serbia all have a chance to make it to the round of 16 on the final day of group play.

Also Read :  Jets have long-shot options if top QB targets don't work out

With the knockout round largely settled, we have a pretty good idea of ​​the lineup for the rest of the World Cup.

Here’s a look at the schedule for the round of 16 and beyond, along with TV information for each match.

Round 16

The qualifying round begins on Saturday, with the United States – fresh off their impressive win over Iran and advancing – against the Netherlands. United States fans are hoping Christian Pulisic will be available for that match after suffering a “pelvic sprain” during the crucial goal.

The next match on Saturday will see Lionel Messi try and keep his World Cup dreams alive as Argentina take on Australia.

Saturday, December 3

Netherlands vs. United States, 10:00 a.m. ET, FOX

Argentina vs. Australia, 2:00 p.m. ET, FOX

Sunday sees two more interesting nations in action, as both England and France take the stage in the round of 16. France face Poland, who advanced after coming out on top against Argentina in their last match of group play, while England are in contention. Senegal, who lost to the Netherlands in their opening match, beat both Qatar and Ecuador.

Also Read :  Arsenal in Leandro Trossard transfer talks: Gunners interested in wantaway Brighton forward | Transfer Centre News

Sunday, December 4

France vs. Poland, 10:00 a.m. ET, FOX

England vs. Senegal, 2:00 p.m. ET, FOX

Japan emerge as winners of Group E thanks to a thrilling win over Spain in the final match of group play. Their reward? A date with Croatia, who finished second in Group F, conceding only once in three matches. The winner of that match will face the winner of the match between Morocco and Spain. Spain though lost to Japan on Thursday, thanks to a 7-0 rout of Costa Rica to open group play, which saw them overtake Germany on goal difference. They will face a Moroccan team who won their group, shocking Belgium 2-0 on the road.

Monday, December 5

Japan vs. Croatia, 10:00 a.m. ET, FOX

Also Read :  Man City record-setting Haaland drove mad by World Cup miss

Morocco vs. Spain, 2:00 p.m. ET, FOX

Tuesday, December 6

1H vs. 2G, 10:00 am ET, FOX

1G vs. 2H, 2 p.m. ET, FOX


Friday, December 9

Japan/Croatia Winner vs 1G/2H Winner, 10:00am ET, FOX (Match 57)

Netherlands/USA Winner vs. Argentina/Australia Winner, 2:00 p.m. ET, FOX (Match 58)

Saturday, December 10

Morocco/Spain Winner vs 1H/2G Winner 10:00am ET, FOX (Match 59)

England/Senegal Winner vs. France/Poland Winner, 2:00 pm ET, FOX (Match 60)


Tuesday, December 13

Match 57 Winner vs Match 58 Winner, 2:00 pm ET, FOX (Match 61)

Wednesday, December 14

Match 59 Winner vs Match 60 Winner, 2:00 pm ET, FOX (Match 62)

Third Place Match

Saturday, December 17

Game 61 Loser vs. Game 62 Loser, 10:00 a.m. ET, FOX

World Cup Final

Sunday, December 18

Match 61 Winner vs Match 62 Winner, 10:00 am ET, FOX

This post will be updated as the teams progress.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Articles

Back to top button